USWNT: Alex Morgan, Alyssa Naeher Take Home CONCACAF Honors

Alex Morgan

The Confederation of North, Central America and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) announced its yearly awards on Tuesday, with multiple U.S. Women’s National Team members being honored.

Forward Alex Morgan was named the 2018 Female Player of the Year, winning the award for the third straight year and fourth time overall.

Morgan led the U.S. offensive attack in 2018, tallying 18 goals in 19 matches while adding three assists.

After leading the U.S. to victories in the SheBelieves Cup and Tournament of Nations, Morgan guided the U.S. to the Concacaf Women’s Championship, winning the Golden Boot and being named to the Best XI of the tournament after scoring seven goals, helping secure the U.S.’s spot in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

USWNT: Alex Morgan Named U.S. Soccer Female Player of the Year

Lindsey Horan, the 2018 NWSL MVP and Best XI pick finished third in the Player of the Year voting, while also being selected to the Concacaf Best XI Team after helping the U.S. clinch a spot in the World Cup.

U.S. goalkeeper Alyssa Naeher also took home some hardware, being named the Female Goalkeeper of the Year for the first time and being selected to the Best XI Team.

Naeher started four of the five matches at the 2019 Concacaf Women’s Championship, registering a clean sheet in all four games played, leading the U.S. to the title.

Along with Morgan, Horan and Naeher’s selections, defenders Crystal Dunn and Becky Sauerbrunn were also selected to the Concacaf Best XI squad. During the Concacaf Women’s Championship, Dunn and Sauerbrunn were a critical part of a U.S. back line that allowed no goals in five matches on their way to clinching a World Cup berth.

Up Next

The U.S. will play their first match of 2018 on Saturday, January 19 at 12:30 p.m. MT in Le Havre against the 2019 Women’s World Cup host country France.

The game will be the first of ten scheduled matches before the U.S. begins World Cup play against Group F opponents Thailand, Chile and Sweden. The U.S. will kick off the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup on June 11.

Follow Fan Insider on Facebook and on Twitter.

Alex Morgan, Tobin Heath Lead U.S. Past Jamaica, Punch Ticket To 2019 World Cup