The rematch has been set.

No. 2 Clemson will take on No. 1 Alabama in a rematch of last year’s championship game as the Tigers blanked No. 3 Ohio State in a 31-0 victory Saturday night at the University of Phoenix Stadium, home to the Arizona Cardinals.

It was the first time that a team coached by Urban Meyer had been shut out and was also the first time Ohio State was held scoreless since Oct. 28, 1993, to end the nation’s longest scoring streak. The Buckeyes were held to a season-low 215 total yards, and finished the season with two losses for just the second time under Meyer.

Since the BCS era (1999), next week’s game between Clemson and Alabama will mark the first time that two teams will be playing for the national championship in back-to-back seasons.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson threw two interceptions, but passed for 259 yards and a touchdown to go with 57 yards on the ground and two scores.

Buckeyes quarterback J.T. Barrett completed just 19 passes for 127 yards. The junior had a night to forget as he failed to throw a touchdown pass for the fourth time this season, and threw multiple interceptions for the first time all year.

Even Brutus the Buckeye (Ohio State’s mascot) had enough as he hilariously walks off on camera. But can you really blame him?

Follow Fan Insider on Facebook and on Twitter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here