With the Major League Baseball season now underway, I thought I would celebrate each of the franchise’s and their storied pasts by selecting an All-Time Team for every club.

The teams consist of one player per infield position (1B, 2B, SS, 3B, C), three outfielders, three starting pitchers, and two relief pitchers. Each American League squad also consists of a designated hitter.

So without further ado, here is part 18 of a 30-part series documenting each franchise’s all-time greats.

Houston Astros

First Base: Jeff Bagwell 1991-05

Playing his entire 15-year career in Houston, Bagwell was named to four All-Star teams while winning three Silver Sluggers and a Gold Glove and RBI title in 1994.

The 1991 NL Rookie of the Year and 1994 NL MVP, Bagwell smashed 449 career home runs, helping the Astros win four NL Central titles and a pair of Wild Card berths, highlighted by reaching the World Series as the 2005 NL champions.

After his career, Bagwell was inducted into both the Astros and Baseball Hall of Fame (2017) and had his No.5 jersey retired in Houston.

Second Base: Jose Altuve 2011-present

One of the game’s best hitters, Altuve has been named to eight All-Star teams, twice leading the AL in stolen bases and three times in batting average.

A five-time Silver Slugger recipient, 2015 Gold Glove winner, and 2019 All-MLB Second Team member, Altuve has thus far played his entire 12-year career in Houston.

Having – thus far – guided the Astros to six playoff berths (four AL West titles, two Wild Card spots) Altuve was named both the 2017 AL Hank Aaron Award winner and AL MVP as he led Houston to its first World Series title.

The 2019 ALCS MVP has also guided Houston to two more AL pennants (2019, 2021) and is a likely future Hall of Famer.

Shortstop: Carlos Correa 2015-21

During a seven-season run in Houston, Correa was named a two-time All-Star, taking home 2015 AL Rookie of the Year honors.

A 2021 Gold Glove, Platinum Glove, and Fielding Bible winner, Correa helped the Astros reach the postseason six times, winning three AL pennants and the 2017 World Series championship.

2021 World Series: Atlanta Braves Beat Houston Astros, Win First Title In 26 years

Third Base: Alex Bregman 2016-present

Another key member of the best era in Astros history, Bregman is a two-time All-Star and 2019 Silver Slugger winner.

The 2018 MLB All-Star Game MVP and 2019 All-MLB Second Team honoree, Bregman has helped Houston reach the playoffs five times, winning three AL pennants and the 2017 World Series.

Catcher: Brad Ausmus 1997-98, ’01-08

During two stints in Houston, Ausmus won three Gold Gloves while helping the Astros win three NL Central titles, two Wild Card berths, and the 2005 NL pennant.

Outfield: Jose Cruz 1975-87

Playing 13 seasons in Houston, Cruz was named to two All-Star teams and received a pair of Silver Sluggers (1983-84).

After helping the Astros win their first three NL West titles, Cruz’s No. 25 was retired and he was inducted into the Astros Hall of Fame following his retirement.

Outfield: Cesar Cedeno 1970-81

A four-time All-Star and five-time Gold Glove recipient, Cedeno twice hit for the cycle during his 12 seasons in Houston.

Cedeno was also a member of the two NL West-winning Astros teams and was inducted into the Astros Hall of Fame in 2020.

Outfield: Jimmy Wynn 1963-73

A 1967 All-Star, Wynn’s No. 24 was retired and he was inducted into the Astros Hall of Fame following his career.

MLB All-Time Team: Los Angeles Dodgers

Designated hitter: Lance Berkman 1999-10

Playing 12 seasons with the Astros, Berkman was a five-time All-Star and led the NL in RBI in 2002.

A member of the Astros Hall of Fame, Berkman helped the franchise reach the playoffs four times – via a pair of both NL Central and NL Wild Card titles – highlighted by an appearance in the 2005 World Series as NL champions.

Starting pitcher: Justin Verlander 2017-20, 2022-present

Despite joining the Astros at age 34 and missing a season due to injury, Verlander has defied his age in becoming a future Hall of Famer.

He has been named to three All-Star teams and the 2019 All-MLB First Team as an Astro, winning the 2017 ALCS MVP and the 2019 AL Cy Young Award and becoming a member of the 3,000 strikeouts club.

The 2018 AL strikeouts leader who threw a no-hitter in 2019, Verlander has led Houston to three AL West titles, a Wild Card berth, two AL pennants, and the 2017 World Series title.

Starting pitcher: Mike Scott 1983-91

A three-time All-Star and NL leader in wins (1989), ERA (1986), and strikeouts (1986) once each, Scott was the star of the 1980s Astros.

The 1986 NL Cy Young Award winner and NLCS MVP – in a losing effort, no less – Scott threw a no-hitter during the season as the Astros won the NL West title.

After his career, his No. 33 was retired and he was inducted into the Astros Hall of Fame.

MLB All-Time Team: New York Mets

Starting pitcher: Nolan Ryan 1980-88

MLB’s all-time strikeouts leader (5,714), Ryan twice led the NL in ERA and K’s, throwing one of his league record seven no-hitters in an Astros uniform.

A two-time All-Star and member of the MLB All-Century Team and 300-win club (324), Ryan guided the Astros to the 1986 NL West title before being inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame and having his No. 34 retired in Houston.

Relief pitcher: Billy Wagner 1995-03

One of the game’s best relievers in his prime, Wagner was selected to three All-Star teams and is a member of the 400 saves club.

The 1999 NL Rolaids Releif Man Award recipient, Wagner took part in a combined no-hitter during the 2000 season and helped Houston win four NL Central titles in his nine seasons before being inducted into the Astros Hall of Fame.

Relief pitcher: Dave Smith 1980-90

Pitching 11 seasons in Houston, Smith was named an All-Star twice, helping the Astros win three NL West titles.

Follow Fan Insider on Facebook and on Twitter.