With the Major League Baseball postseason just around the corner, I thought I would celebrate each of the franchise’s and their storied pasts by selecting an All-Time Team for every club.

The teams consist of one player per infield position (1B, 2B, SS, 3B, C), three outfielders, three starting pitchers, and two relief pitchers. Each American League squad also consists of a designated hitter.

So without further ado, here is part nine of a 30-part series documenting each franchise’s all-time greats.

New York Mets

First Base: Keith Hernandez 1983-89

A three-time All-Star and six-time Gold Glove winner, Hernandez was part of the Mets for seven seasons, highlighted by a World Series title in 1986.

A Silver Slugger winner in 1984 who also hit for the cycle in a Mets uniform, Hernandez was inducted into the team’s Hall of Fame following his retirement.

Second Base: Edgardo Alfonso 1995-02

A 2000 NL All-Star and 1999 Silver Slugger winner, Alfonzo helped guide the Mets to a pair of Wild Card berths and a trip to the 2000 World Series during his eight years with the team.

After his retirement, he was inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame.

Shortstop: Jose Reyes 2003-11, 2016-18

One of the game’s most dynamic players during his prime, Reyes led the NL in stolen bases three straight seasons (2005-07) and was named to four All-Star teams during his Mets tenure.

A Silver Slugger winner (2006) and NL batting champion (2011), he helped lead the team win the 2006 NL East title before returning for a second stint with the organization in 2016, where Reyes helped the team clinch a Wild Card berth.

Third Base: David Wright 2004-16, 2018

Known as “Mr. Met”, Wright played his entire 14-year career in Mets blue and orange.

A seven-time All-Star who won a pair of both Silver Sluggers and Gold Gloves, Wright guided the Mets to a pair of NL East titles, a wild card berth, and an NL pennant in 2015. 

Wright retired as the Mets’ all-time leader in at-bats (5,998), hits (1,777), doubles (390), bases on balls (762), and RBI (970). 

Dodgers Win First World Series In 32 Years — Here’s All The Best Reactions

Catcher: Mike Piazza 1998-05

Playing eight years for the Mets, Piazza was named an All-Star seven times, winning a Silver Slugger award on five occasions (1998-02).

Guiding New York to a Wild Card berth in 1999, the Mets returned to the postseason in 2000 via the Wild Card with Piazza leading the charge, reaching the World Series before falling to the Yankees.

A member of the Mets Hall of Fame, Piazza’s No. 31 was retired by the club and he was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 2016.

Outfield: Carlos Beltran 2005-11

Playing seven years with the Mets, Beltran was an All-Star his first season. During his second campaign, he led New York to an NL East title while being named an All-Star and winning a Gold Glove, Silver Slugger, and Fielding Bible.

During the last five years of tenure, Beltran racked up four more All-Star appearances, two Gold Gloves, a Silver Slugger (2007), and a Fielding Bible (2008) before being traded during the 2011 season.

Outfield: Cleon Jones 1963, 1965-75

A member of the Mets Hall of Fame, Jones was named an All-Star for the only time during the 1969 season. 

Jones was also vital to the success of the Mets during his 12-season tenure, winning a pair of both NL East titles and NL pennants, highlighted by being a member of the 1969 World Series champion “Miracle Mets.”

Outfield: Darryl Strawberry 1983-90

A seven-time All-Star (1984-90) and 1983 NL Rookie of the Year, Strawberry was a vital part of the 1986 NL East, NL, and World Series champion Mets, while also guiding the club to a division title in 1988.

The Mets all-time leader in home runs (252), Strawberry led the NL in home runs during the 1988 season while also taking home a pair of Silver Sluggers in 1988 and 1990. 

After his career, he was inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame following his eight-year tenure in Queens.

MLB All-Time Team: Miami Marlins

Starting pitcher: Tom Seaver 1967-77, 1983

Playing 12 seasons in New York, Seaver was one of the best pitchers in the league, making nine All-Star teams and being named the NL Cy Young Award winner three times (1969, 1973, 1975).

The 1967 NL Rookie of the Year, Seaver led the National League in wins twice, ERA three times, and strikeouts five times while becoming a member of the 300-win and 3,000 strikeouts clubs. 

Guiding the Mets to a pair of both NL East and NL pennants and the 1969 World Series championship, Seaver was inducted into the Baseball Hall of Fame in 1992 and had his No. 41 jersey retired by the team.

Starting pitcher: Dwight Gooden 1984-94

One of the top pitchers during his prime, “Doc” burst onto the scene as a rookie in 1984, winning NL Rookie of the Year honors and making the All-Star team while leading the league in strikeouts (276). 

Year two was even better, when he took home the NL Cy Young Award and the Triple Crown, leading the league in wins (24), ERA (1.53), and strikeouts (268). Another All-Star selection followed in 1986, while Gooden guided the Mets to the NL East, NL, and World Series titles.

Despite having an up-and-down final eight seasons in blue and orange, Gooden still added another All-Star selection and a Silver Slugger award while leading the Mets to another NL East title in 1988. 

After his career, Gooden was inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame.

Starting pitcher: Jacob DeGrom 2014-present

DeGrom burst onto the scene during his debut 2014 season, taking home the NL Rookie of the Year award. A year later he was named an All-Star for the first time, guiding the Mets to the NL East and NL pennants.

A four-time All-Star and two-time All-MLB First Team member, DeGrom has led the NL in strikeouts twice and ERA in 2018, taking home the NL Cy Young Award in back-to-back seasons in 2018-19 while guiding the Mets back to the postseason via a Wild Card berth in 2016.

Relief pitcher: John Franco 1990-01, 2003-04

Playing 15 years in New York, Franco ended his career 5th all-time in career saves (424), leading the NL in the stat for two seasons (1990,1994).

A 1990 NL All-Star and NL Rolaids Relief Man of the Year, Frano was the closer on two Wild Card-winning Mets teams during the 1999-00 seasons, with the latter culminating in a trip to the World Series as NL champions.

After his career, Franco was inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame

Relief pitcher: Tug McGraw 1965-67, 1969-74

A nine-year member of the Mets, McGraw was named an NL All-Star in 1972 and helped lead the team to a pair of NL East and NL pennants and the 1969 World Series title during his tenure.

Following his retirement, he was inducted into the Mets Hall of Fame.

Follow Fan Insider on Facebook and on Twitter.

MLB All-Time Team: San Diego Padres